The last hurrah

We had our daughter’s first birthday party today.  I bought regular wheat cake flour earlier this week for the last time (for a while, anyway).  This morning the boys helped me make mini cupcakes and a tiny cake (baked in two Pyrex lunch dishes).   I was a little sad as we scooped out the flour, but I’m also kind of excited.  Since I love to cook, I’m nervous about giving up all my favorite recipes, but I’m also looking forward to learning something new.  Part of me is glad I’ll have to cook more now after 3 years of baby-related exhaustion.  I’ll document it here, successes and failures.  Even my own birthday cake will be gluten-free.

I’m taking the celiac kid (CK) to the pediatric nutritionist on April 4th.  After that, no more gluten in the house.  Until then, as we use something up it will be replaced with a gluten-free variety or not replaced at all.  Tomorrow I will be making gluten-free popcorn chicken, since our lazymom frozen chicken nuggets are now off limits (yeah, they make GF varieties but we need a LOT and I don’t want to spend a zillion bucks).

In the meantime, arent’ we all glad that frosting is naturally gluten-free? 

Last week I took the kidlings out for cupcakes (they’d asked and I really wanted the St. Patrick’s Day Bailey’s-frosted one for myself).  All the way there, CK was demanding a BIG cupcake, don’t forget, Mom, I want a BIG cupcake.  And once it was in his hand, he methodically licked off every speck of frosting and told me “I don’t like this other part,”  You know, the gluteny cupcake part? 

Frosting shots for all!

About Lissa

I love bread, cake, cookies, pasta and all other forms of wheat. One of my twin boys has celiac disease. We'll make it work. As of spring 2011, I'm the mother of one 1-year-old and two 2-year-olds. I'm a full-time math teacher and full-time parent, a liberal feminist with a traditional streak, an above-average cook but not a foodie, a native midwesterner and happy Seattleite. I'd love to feed my family local, organic food, but I'd also like to pay the mortgage.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The last hurrah

  1. Sarah says:

    Will you teach me to make ganash?

  2. Lissa says:

    Piece of cake! For the small amount I needed, I warmed 1/2 cream and 4 oz bittersweet chocolate for about 40 seconds in the microwave. Let it sit a bit as the chocolate melts, then stir-stir-stir. Add a couple drops of flavoring (orange extract, mint, almond?) or booze after it’s all smooth, if you want.

Leave a Reply

