pizza night

I have three toddlers, plus a husband who eats like a toddler; so it should come as no surprise that I make pizza at least twice a month.  It’s pretty good, if I do say so myself.  The boys love to help by mixing/sprinkling cheese, making sauce, distributing toppings.  And I’ve perfected my dough recipe.  It’s the perfect balance of chewy and crispy; it cooks up fast and delicious. 

Of course, that last bit no longer matters.  Tonight was our first-ever homemade gluten-free pizza dinner.  I didn’t attempt to make the dough from scratch, but I read the directions and ingredients on all the mixes in our co-op and chose the one that sounds most like what I will make from scratch once I make more room in my baking cabinet.  I chose the Bob’s Red Mill GF Pizza Crust mix, and in a move that’s out of character, I followed the directions almost as written.

It was good.  It wasn’t great, but it was good.  In fact, for the kids (especially the 1-year-old) I think it might have been better than the wheat crust because it was easier to bite and chew.  I’d have preferred more chew, but for something that won’t hurt our son it was more than adequate.

Next test: how will the leftovers hold up for lunches this week?

About Lissa

I love bread, cake, cookies, pasta and all other forms of wheat. One of my twin boys has celiac disease. We'll make it work. As of spring 2011, I'm the mother of one 1-year-old and two 2-year-olds. I'm a full-time math teacher and full-time parent, a liberal feminist with a traditional streak, an above-average cook but not a foodie, a native midwesterner and happy Seattleite. I'd love to feed my family local, organic food, but I'd also like to pay the mortgage.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to pizza night

  1. Lissa says:

    I had a slice for lunch; I’d say it lost less through microwave heating than wheat pizza does.

  2. Sarah says:

    I’m glad to know that there is at least some positive (the reheating factor) to gluten free pizza. 😉

  3. Pingback: the more you know (about pizza) | Celiac Toddler

  4. Pingback: products index | Celiac Toddler

Leave a Reply

