gear

Here’s a question for the few people who are going to read this.  I swear this is a real question and not just an attempt to drum up comments (though, y’know, please comment!).

Many of my favorite kitchen tools are things that can’t go through the dishwasher or really even get scrubbed down all that easily.  Which of these do you think I can rescue somehow, and which should I replace?

  • cast-iron skillets, well-seasoned
  • pizza stone
  • wooden cutting boards
  • pasta maker (Be honest: will I ever make my own GF pastas, or can this sit on a shelf until the boys go to overnight camp and their sister and dad and I have a gluten fiesta?)

In related news, I’m seeking an adoptive home for most of a can of baking spray, 4.5 pounds of white whole wheat flour and 1.5 pounds of cake flour (maybe I could save that someplace for my birthday?).  All-purpose flour isn’t on that list because of the secret cookies I just made for me and James.  If we ration them they’ll last 4 days.

About Lissa

I love bread, cake, cookies, pasta and all other forms of wheat. One of my twin boys has celiac disease. We'll make it work. As of spring 2011, I'm the mother of one 1-year-old and two 2-year-olds. I'm a full-time math teacher and full-time parent, a liberal feminist with a traditional streak, an above-average cook but not a foodie, a native midwesterner and happy Seattleite. I'd love to feed my family local, organic food, but I'd also like to pay the mortgage.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to gear

  1. Sarah says:

    Given that the boys don’t live in a sterile world (and will come in contact with trace amounts of gluten, because you’re not going to put them in giant plastic bubbles), I would scrub everything down really really well (even a few times if it made you feed better) and keep on using it. The pizza stone and the cutting boards for sure. I’m not sure about the cast iron. If you ever decide to make your own gluten free pasta, sanitize the pasta maker then. If you scrub it well, I can’t see the cutting boards or pizza stone adding any more gluten to their diet than general contact with the world would. Then again, I think that school in Florida that makes kids wash their hands and faces at school each day and until recently made all student rinse out their mouths twice a day to protect a student with a nut allergy was taking safety too far…

  2. Katie says:

    I don’t know much about wooden cutting boards and the pizza stone (what is that made of, anyway?), but cast iron can be scrubbed down with soap, as long as you dry it really well and season it again right away. It’ll take a few uses to get that patina of grease back on there, but I would think you should be able to get (most of) the gluten off. You can even use steel wool, if you really want to get into every nook and cranny. I’ve also used the self-cleaning cycle on the oven to clean everything off my cast iron, but you’ll still need to re-season it. I second the idea of not sanitizing the pasta maker until you decide to make GF pasta.

  3. Amy B. says:

    I have no idea about the gluten-removal of the kitchen. Maybe the nutritionist would have suggestions?

    I’m happy to be an adoptive home and might even bring you, J, and E occasional treats made of the products.

  4. Bob says:

    Gluten isn’t like germs! The standard for “gluten-free” is below 20 parts per million, not zero parts per million. Washing all four will take care of things. In fact, just a good wiping of the cast-iron skillet should be enough.

  5. I’ll take the cake flour!

    Also, I agree with the washing statement above. That should take care of most of those, although the porous surface of the pizza stone might be a problem…..I have a SEVERELY celiac friend who might be able to help you. I can get her email if you like.

  6. J says:

    Keep the cast iron, replace the wooden cutting boards with flexible plastic ones. They can go in the dishwasher. Donate the pasta maker and keep the pizza stone which BTW, we always keep in the oven. I think it helps to keep the (electric) oven a stable temperature. I hardly even wash it but when I do I either wipe it off with a damp cloth, scrape it with a knife or metal spatula or scrub it with baking soda and a scrubby thing. I’ve had this pizza sone for 25-30 years. If you’re afraid it’s going to get to yukky, why not put a piece of parchment paper on the stone before you put your pizza on it. Same idea if you think you can’t get the wheat flour out of the porous surface. I use the parchment paper idea when I ocassionally bake a small amount of cookies-easier that getting a cookie sheet out. Talk about lazy!

  7. J says:

    Why not use rice noodles instead of wheat pasta? They are so-o-o easy to heat up. Just toss themin hot water for a few minutes.

Leave a Reply

