the wheat-free wheat

It’s not surprising that my 2.5-year-olds enjoy breakfast cereal.  What may be more unusual is that their favorites are not not the traditional Cheerios and Rice Krispies, but raisin bran and shredded wheat.  Unfortunately, those two wheat-based cereals aren’t as easy to replace as their oat-, corn- and rice-based counterparts.  We’re familiar with Whole O’s.  There are a few options for malt-free, gluten-free crisped rice.  I’m considering adding some raisins to a box of GF corn flakes to see if that could stand in for raisin bran.

But shredded wheat?

The celiac toddler understands, in his toddler way, why we’re undergoing diet changes.  “We have to find new crackers and bread that’s good for my tummy.”  “We can make cookies with new flour that’s good for my tummy.”  He’s on board, and his brother is mostly OK with being along for the ride.  But yesterday they told me, “We have to find [shredded] wheat that’s good for my tummy too.”  Because their shredded wheat, they love it so.  And I can’t think of anything gluten-free that’s even vaguely similar.

About Lissa

I love bread, cake, cookies, pasta and all other forms of wheat. One of my twin boys has celiac disease. We'll make it work. As of spring 2011, I'm the mother of one 1-year-old and two 2-year-olds. I'm a full-time math teacher and full-time parent, a liberal feminist with a traditional streak, an above-average cook but not a foodie, a native midwesterner and happy Seattleite. I'd love to feed my family local, organic food, but I'd also like to pay the mortgage.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to the wheat-free wheat

  1. Amy B. says:

    What about adding some shredded coconut to a GF cereal. Might get a little close to the texture…

  2. Sarah says:

    Perhaps you can just introduce peanut butter puffins, because they’re fabulous enough to make someone forget about shredded wheat. They’re also not healthy, but regular puffins or cinnamon are also tasty.

  3. Sandra S. says:

    I’m wracking my brain and coming up with nothing. The gf ingredient that makes things hold together incredibly well (beyond guar and xantham gums) is bamboo. Maybe you could find a way to shred and prepare bamboo shoots for a similar texture? Enormous amounts of effort, but I know you’re a foodie. And the stuff does have a pretty woody texture. It might work. Of course, the fibre content would be Nuts.

Leave a Reply

