springtime flours

A random thought this evening:

We were out of the Namaste all-purpose flour blend, so I went to the co-op to pick up some more.  I bought more Namaste because it’s been working pretty well.  And then, because I want to experiment with making my own different blends, I grabbed bags of brown rice flour, millet, potato flour, tapioca, buckwheat and I can’t remember what-all else.  No bean flours; I don’t need my lemon bars tasting like garbanzos. 

Someday I’ll be able to buy a dozen little bags of flours without getting a movie reference stuck in my head, but today is not that day.  This is one of my favorite scenes from one of my favorite movies:

Now I’m ready for the next big gluten-free baking projects: birthday cakes for me and J, and a cake for the Camp Ten Trees auction.  Recipe suggestions, requests and dedications welcome.

About Lissa

I love bread, cake, cookies, pasta and all other forms of wheat. One of my twin boys has celiac disease. We'll make it work. As of spring 2011, I'm the mother of one 1-year-old and two 2-year-olds. I'm a full-time math teacher and full-time parent, a liberal feminist with a traditional streak, an above-average cook but not a foodie, a native midwesterner and happy Seattleite. I'd love to feed my family local, organic food, but I'd also like to pay the mortgage.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to springtime flours

  1. Sarah says:

    Once you perfect your gluten-free all-purpose flour blend, do you post the recipe/proportions online, or do you market it?

  2. J says:

    Have you found mesquite flour? A friend brought me some from New Mexico. I think it’s from a tree not a grain. I’ve used it to make great choclate chip cookies and tasty crackers. It’s got a sweet taste to it. I like it.

Leave a Reply

