a link and a promise

It’s been a busy couple of weeks.  I ran an evening workshop for 20 tutors and two days later an evening event, dinner included, for 500 folks from the school where I work.  I had my first-ever night away from my daughter (and the boys too); we all survived (and I got to eat some guilt-free gluten).  I took the kids and myself for much-needed doctor’s visit and still managed to eat well. 

What I haven’t managed to do is write a single word.  I need to get better about taking pictures, too, especially now that 1) I found my camera! and 2) the days are getting longer so I can now photograph dinner in natural light.   Let me do a quick round-up and swear to do better.

My birthday came last weekend.  Instead of making a cake for myself (a friend did a nice one from a GF mix), I made one for a dessert auction.  I wish I’d taken a picture, because it was gorgeous: layers of GF lemon pound cake sandwiched with raspberry jam, lemon curd and cream cheese icing.  The top was a swirl of lemon curd and raspberry.  The best part?  This cake was got some of the highest bids and earned $450 for Camp Ten Trees

This weekend I’ve done a ton of un-photographed, un-written-about baking.  Yesterday I made scones AND my husband’s birthday cake with my favorite flour blend.  This morning I de-veganized these doughnuts by subbing an egg for some of the applesauce.  And then tonight there was pizza with this crust.  It’s definitely closer to my awesome wheat crust than anything I’ve tried yet, but next time I’ll make it with yeast instead of baking powder. 

And next time I’ll take pictures and I’ll write about it.  I promise.

Finally, a bread report: When it comes to making sandwiches, I’m sad to report that this one:

 is no better than the frozen bricks at the co-op; however, the toddlers are very accepting of peanut butter and jelly OR ham and mayo on this:

BUT you have to be sure you let it rise long enough (up to 90 minutes is fine) and bake it long enough (at LEAST 70 minutes), or it will shrivel up and die after you take it out of the oven.  And refrigerate it if you’re not going to use it within 4-5 days–although it will mold, not crumble.  I’ve learned these things the hard way, so you don’t have to.

About Lissa

I love bread, cake, cookies, pasta and all other forms of wheat. One of my twin boys has celiac disease. We'll make it work. As of spring 2011, I'm the mother of one 1-year-old and two 2-year-olds. I'm a full-time math teacher and full-time parent, a liberal feminist with a traditional streak, an above-average cook but not a foodie, a native midwesterner and happy Seattleite. I'd love to feed my family local, organic food, but I'd also like to pay the mortgage.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to a link and a promise

  1. Anneke says:

    I agree, the Gluten Free Pantry French Bread/Pizza mix is no good for sandwiches, and not much better for French Bread, either. It does, however, work great as a go to pizza crust. Makes enough to feed my family of six (including a teenage boy!), and it doesn’t have to be pre-baked. I load it up with my homemade sauce and lots of vegetables. I am trying out some scratch recipes for pizza crust, too, so thanks for any of those, but on the weeknight that I count on pizza for dinner, the mix is often the only way to squeeze dinner into the small window of time. BTW, I am friends with Shirley here in St. Paul, and she passed on your blog address to me — we have been GF for 2 1/2 years and are still learning!

  2. Pingback: products index | Celiac Toddler

Leave a Reply

