pizza, improved

My brother sent me a new GF pizza crust recipe a few weeks ago.  We liked it so well, I’ve made it three times already.  Forget the Bob’s, all hail the Chebe!  You start with a Chebe bread mix, add rice flour, eggs, oil and baking powder, and wind up with something that just might make you forget about wheat.  For starters, it’s a dough that you can knead and stretch. 

Then after you cook it up?

Bingo!

Not only did the toddlers eat 2-3 slices each, but the husband gave it his Official Seal of Approval too.  It was as chewy as my old wheat crust, it re-heated well, and it tasted good.  Their secret is a modified tapioca starch, which is almost impossible for home cooks to find.  That’s OK, I’ve stopped worrying and learned to love the mix.

I didn’t change anything from this Serious Eats recipe, but making it three times has given me some wisdom to pass on.

  1. Order the 8-pack of the Chebe bread mixes (not pizza crust mixes, which they also make). I promise you will use them all faster than you think would be best (If you live in the Seattle area, have Amazon Fresh deliver it before 6 am and feel unbearbly smug.
  2. Brown rice flour does pretty well, but the white rice flour makes it closer to a traditional gluteny crust.  Don’t bother with the yeast option.
  3. Check check check food packages–even meat–to be sure your toppings are gluten-free. 
  4. You can just press the dough into the pan, but don’t.  Roll the crust  on the counter.  It’s easier to get it thin and even, and you’ll feel more like an authentic, wheat-loving pizza chef.  Try tossing it in the air.  Send me a pic.
  5. You can also split the dough in half and make two 9-inch pizzas.
  6. Use a bit less sauce, say 2/3 what you’re used to.  The longer pre-bake and shorter time in the oven with toppings will keep the sauce saucier and messier. 
  7. For the same reason, slice toppings extra thin if you want to be sure it cooks through. 
  8. Having said that, you can skimp a little bit on the pre-baking step if you want to allow more baking time with toppings in place. 
  9. 1-2 minutes under the broiler is a great finishing touch.
About Lissa

I love bread, cake, cookies, pasta and all other forms of wheat. One of my twin boys has celiac disease. We'll make it work. As of spring 2011, I'm the mother of one 1-year-old and two 2-year-olds. I'm a full-time math teacher and full-time parent, a liberal feminist with a traditional streak, an above-average cook but not a foodie, a native midwesterner and happy Seattleite. I'd love to feed my family local, organic food, but I'd also like to pay the mortgage.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to pizza, improved

  1. Pingback: products index | Celiac Toddler

  2. Pingback: dinner of champions | Celiac Toddler

  3. Sara says:

    I am a little confused about the directions or recipe listed on serious eats…do I just follow the directions on the package or add 1 cup of white rice flour? The monsters (my 3 & 4 year old boys) NEED pizza. Seriously. Need it. Thanks!

    • Lissa says:

      Use the white rice flour! The Chebe mix is basically just the easiest way to get the modified tapioca flour.

      I was going to try grilling it this week, but we ran out of propane.

Leave a Reply

