forgive the cute toddler story

We have plans to meet friends tomorrow morning at a restaurant that has gluten-free pancakes.  I told the boys about it at bedtime: “Tomorrow we’re going to go meet Timmy at a restaurant that has pancakes that are good for our tummies.   They both sat up, cheered and applauded.  Here’s hoping the pancakes are actually good, right? 

But then B turned back to me and said, “Good for my tummy means gluten-free.”

“Wow, that’s right, little man,  I didn’t even know you knew the phrase ‘gluten-free.'”

“Why not gluten four?”

About Lissa

I love bread, cake, cookies, pasta and all other forms of wheat. One of my twin boys has celiac disease. We'll make it work. As of spring 2011, I'm the mother of one 1-year-old and two 2-year-olds. I'm a full-time math teacher and full-time parent, a liberal feminist with a traditional streak, an above-average cook but not a foodie, a native midwesterner and happy Seattleite. I'd love to feed my family local, organic food, but I'd also like to pay the mortgage.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to forgive the cute toddler story

  1. Sarah says:

    I LOVE IT!

  2. Dana Schwartz says:

    I really hope they are great pancakes! 🙂

    By the way, I found a cheddar cracker that is closest to a goldfish (in taste) than I’ve tasted since GF – they are square/rectangles, but very dense and cheesy, not like most GF crackers which seem more for adults than kids. Just in case you need a break from cracker baking, here it is – The Grainless Baker, Cheddar Snackers.

  3. Sarah says:

    How were the pancakes?

Leave a Reply

