it’s supposed to hit 80 today [recipe: gluten-free brownies for ice cream and eating]

If I’m being honest, I’ll admit that we eat ice cream in every week of every season.  Now that summer has finally arrived in Seattle, though, ice cream seems even more necessary.   And while I’ll claim that ice cream is a staple partly because it’s naturally gluten-free, I also have to say: my favorite flavors are the ones that contain gluten.  Who doesn’t love a nice chocolate-chip cookie dough ice cream?  Or a Girl Scout cookie ice cream?  Or an ice cream sandwich made with cookies? 

So I’ve decided that one of my summer projects is to make gluten-free versions of all the gluteny ice creams that my boys can’t have.  It’s a project that’s fun, easy, and good for them to “help” with.  We started yesterday with a gluten-free chocolate fudge brownie ice cream.  I probably thought too hard about what kind of  brownies to make.  Anything too buttery might lose its flavor in the cold; anything too cakey would get soggy in the batter.  Right?  Surely I’m not the first person to contemplate this important issue, but Google was surprisingly unhelpful.  I decided on a middle-of-the-road approach.  I made the brownies the day before the ice cream so they could cool and get a little stale.  Fortunately?  Unfortuanately? They were so good that we ate 3/4 of the pan that night, no ice cream required.  That meant the brownie ice cream wasn’t quite brownie-y enough; next time I’ll know to be more vigilant.

Then I made chocolate ice cream base (I won’t share that part until I get it right), froze it in the KitchenAid attachment, and had the boys throw in the chunks of brownie at the very end.  It was pretty good.

Anyway, here’s the brownie recipe, adapted from Cooks Illustrated:*

Pre-heat the oven to 325.  Prepare an 8-by-8 inch square pan by greasing and lining with parchment.

Whisk together in a small bowl and set aside:

  • 3/4 cups GF flour blend**
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder

 Heat and stir until just melted (two 20-second shots in the microwave did it for me) :

  • 3 ounces unsweetened chocolate, chopped fine
  • 6 tablespoons butter, cut into pieces

Stir into the chocolate mixture:

  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 1/2 teapoons vanilla extract

Add flour mixture and stir just until everything is combined.  Spread into prepared pan.  Bake about 35 minutes, until a toothpick comes out with crumbs, not batter.  Cool before cutting.  Try to save some for your ice cream.

* Someday Cooks Illustrated will do a gluten-free cookbook and the world will be a more delicious place.

** My current all-purpose mix is mostly white rice, potato and tapioca, but also contains brown rice, millet, sorghum and amaranth.

About Lissa

I love bread, cake, cookies, pasta and all other forms of wheat. One of my twin boys has celiac disease. We'll make it work. As of spring 2011, I'm the mother of one 1-year-old and two 2-year-olds. I'm a full-time math teacher and full-time parent, a liberal feminist with a traditional streak, an above-average cook but not a foodie, a native midwesterner and happy Seattleite. I'd love to feed my family local, organic food, but I'd also like to pay the mortgage.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

