six months later

I’m still cooking and thinking and raising picky, gluten-free toddlers–but apparently it’s been half a year since I bothered to write about it. Can I blame my children? 🙂

I have a good recipe post coming as soon as I get a picture, but in the meantime, catching up, a few random thoughts:

1) McDonald’s has now disclosed that their fries have wheat. That leaves zero major fast-food chains in this area where we can get fries. This doesn’t seem like much, but sometimes we’re out and about longer than expected and need a little treat. So I’m starting to learn all the places where they cut their own fries, don’t coat them, and fry nothing but potatoes.  That’s GF enough for me.

2) Subway restaurants are using the entire state of Oregon as their test market for their gluten-free menu. I hope it’s selling well and gets up here soon.

3) Living Social keeps running deals for glutenfreely.com. In my first order, I got a few mixes. I’ve only tried one, a yellow cake mix from Better Batter, but it wasn’t as good as the cupcakes I’ll tell you about tomorrow. Seems like a lot of those mixes use too much xanthan gum.

4) I failed to tell you about these cookies, but they weren’t that good. However, the dudes absolutely loved the gingerbread house.

Coming up this week: easy, awesome vanilla cupcakes and banana caramel cake. For real.

About Lissa

I love bread, cake, cookies, pasta and all other forms of wheat. One of my twin boys has celiac disease. We'll make it work. As of spring 2011, I'm the mother of one 1-year-old and two 2-year-olds. I'm a full-time math teacher and full-time parent, a liberal feminist with a traditional streak, an above-average cook but not a foodie, a native midwesterner and happy Seattleite. I'd love to feed my family local, organic food, but I'd also like to pay the mortgage.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

